AUTOMATIC WATER CONSERVATION
WITHOUT DOSING AND MAINTENANCE EFFORT

The silvertex® material effectively reduces the growth of germs in stored water through its antibacterial properties. It thus inhibits the formation of biofilm and the resulting microbial contamination, which is often associated with high cleaning/maintenance costs.

The large effective surface area of the silvertex® material can be optimally flowed through due to the open  design of its structure, thereby enabling the self-regulating release of silver ions into the surrounding fluid. Due to its flexible shape, the silvertex® material can be inserted into almost any cleaning/maintenance opening.

Silver as a preservative

Silver-based products have been used to keep drinking water fresh since Charlemagne. Back then, in the form of silver vessels in which drinking water was kept, nobody knew anything about the specific effects of silver. Today we know that it is the positively charged silver ions that dock onto the microorganisms (e.g. pathogens such as Legionella, E.Coli, etc.) and disrupt the metabolism of the bacteria or lead to cell death in over 30 different mechanisms of action. The microbially acting silver ions have a unique long-term effect like no other active ingredient. Products based on chlorine or hydrogen peroxide cannot be “bound” in water, they evaporate and are therefore not suitable for preservation.

The Mechanism of Action

When the metallic (elemental) silver comes into contact with the oxygenated water/fluid, a concentration-dependent amount of Ag+ ions is formed. These formed Ag+ ions are solvated by water/fluids, pass into the fluid phase and are carried away. The positively charged Ag ions associate to the negatively polarized membranes of microorganisms. A large number of chemical reactions develop from this initially electrostatic interaction. These chemical reactions, with over 30 proven mechanisms of action of the silver ions, lead to reactions such as metabolic disorders and structural deformations in the microorganisms, which in turn lead to the inability to reproduce and even cell death:

  • complex formation with DNA/RNA
  • reactions with cytochromes
  • change in membrane permeability
  • blocking of the thiol groups of enzymes (-SH SAg, e.g. inhibition of lactose dehydrogenase, glutathione peroxidase)
  • reaction with carboxyl (-COOH) and amino (NH2) groups and much more.

How is the active concentration set?

Only the concentration of free solvated Ag+ ions acts as an antimicrobial effective concentration. The concentration of free silver ions in water and aqueous media depends to a large extent on which other substances (ions, complexing agents, etc.) are contained in which concentrations in the respective fluid. This fact is illustrated using the example of the chloride (Cl ) ions contained in practically every natural drinking water , in accordance with the law of mass action:


c(Ag+) = 1,17x10-10/1,3c(Cl-)

If corresponding chloride concentrations (Cl in [mg/L] or [mmol/L]) are inserted into this relationship, the silver ion concentrations resulting under these concentration conditions are as follows:

CL– [mg/l]CL– [mol/l]Ag+ [mol/l]Ag+ [μg/l]
100,284,6750
200,562,3325
----
601,690,778
----
1002,820,465
----
2005,630,232,5

That means that e.g. For example, in water with a chloride content of 20 mg/L, the maximum concentration is only 25 µg silver ions/L. It has been proven that one
effective concentration >5µg Ag+ /L with an exposure time of approx. 2 hours causes a kill rate of (4 … 6) log levels and thus ensures effective long-term protection.

Areas of application

  • drinking water (according to DIN EN 15030)
  • ventilation technology (according to VDI 6022)
  • humidifier
  • process water, cooling water pipes, lines, tanks
  • fire extinguishing systems
  • emergency showers
  • apparatus and plant construction
  • mobile gastronomy & food trucks
  • camping, Boat/Yacht
  • cooling towers
  • evaporative cooling systems (according to VDI 2047) and much more.

Available sizes

  • prefabricated according to desired size
  • private label on request

Durability

silvertex® nets are protected from sunlight, stored closed, have a shelf life of 10 years. In contact with water/fluids, the shelf life or duration of use depends on the respective application and is usually 12-24 months.

Labelling

H410: Very toxic for water organisms with long-term effect.



Signal word: Attention

Use biocides safely. Always read the label and product information before use.

Active substance: silver (Ag+ )
CAS No.: 7440-22-4

BauA reg. No:
N-107904 (PT5)
N-107905 (PT2)

Technical data sheet (PDF)

AUTOMATISCHE WASSERKONSERVIERUNG OHNE DOSIER- UND WARTUNGSAUFWAND

Das silvertex® Material vermindert durch seine antibakteriellen Eigenschaften effektiv das Wachstum von Keimen in gespeichertem Wasser. Es hemmt dadurch die Entstehung von Biofilm und die daraus entstehende mikrobielle Kontamination, welche häufig mit einem hohen Reinigung-/Wartungsaufwand verbunden ist.

Die große Wirkoberfläche des silvertex® Materials kann durch den offenen  Aufbau seiner Struktur optimal durchströmt werden und ermöglicht dadurch die selbstregulierende Abgabe von Silberionen an das umgebende Fluid. Durch seine flexible Form kann das silvertex® Material in nahezu jede Reinigungs-/Wartungsöffnung eingebracht werden.

Silber als Konservierungsmittel

Auf Silber basierende Produkte sind schon seit Karl des Großen zur Frischhaltung von Trinkwasser im Einsatz. Damals in Form von Silbergefäßen, in denen das Trinkwasser aufbewahrt wurde, wusste man noch nichts über die spezifische Wirkungsweise von Silber. Heute weiß man, dass es die positiv geladenen Silberionen sind, welche an den Mikroorganismen (z.B. Krankheitserregern wie Legionellen, E.Coli etc.) andocken und in über 30 verschiedenen Wirkmechanismen den Stoffwechsel der Bakterien stören bzw. zum Zelltod führen. Die mikrobiell wirkenden Silberionen haben eine einzigartige Langzeitwirkung wie kein anderer Wirkstoff. Auf Chlor oder Wasserstoffperoxid basierende Produkte können nicht im Wasser „gebunden“ werden, verflüchtigen sich und sind somit zur Konservierung nicht geeignet.

Der Wirk-Mechanismus

Im Kontakt des metallischen (Elementar-)Silbers mit dem sauerstoffhaltigen Wasser/Fluid bildet sich eine konzentrationsabhängige Menge Ag+-Ionen. Diese gebildeten Ag+-Ionen werden durch Wasser/Fluide solvatisiert, treten in die fluide Phase über und werden abgetragen. Die positiv geladenen Ag-Ionen assoziieren an die negativ polarisierten Membranen von Mikroorganismen. Aus dieser, zunächst elektrostatischen Wechselwirkung entwickeln sich eine Vielzahl chemischer Reaktionen. Diese chemischen Reaktionen, mit über 30 nachgewiesenen Wirkmechanismen der Silberionen, führen bei den Mikroorganismen zu Reaktionen wie Stoffwechselstörungen & Strukturdeformationen, die wiederum von der Vermehrungsunfähigkeit bis hin zum Zelltod führen:

  • Komplexbildung mit DNA/RNA
  • Reaktionen mit Cytochromen
  • Veränderung der Membran-Permeabilität
  • Blockierung der Thiolgruppen von Enzymen (-SH SAg, z.B. Hemmung von Lactosedehydrogenase, Glutathionperoxidase)
  • Reaktion mit Carboxyl- (-COOH)- und Amino-(NH2)-Gruppen uvm.

Wie wird die Wirk-Konzentration eingestellt?

Als antimikrobielle Wirkkonzentration fungiert lediglich die Konzentration freier solvatisierter Ag+-Ionen. Die Konzentration an freien Silber-Ionen in Wasser und wässrigen Medien hängt in hohem Maße davon ab, welche weitere Stoffe (Ionen, Komplexbildner usw.) in welchen Konzentrationen im jeweiligen Fluid enthalten sind. Dieser Sachverhalt sei exemplarisch am Beispiel der in praktisch jedem natürlichen Trinkwasser enthaltenen Chlorid-(Cl)-Ionen, entsprechend dem Massenwirkungsgesetz, dargestellt:

c(Ag+) = 1,17x10-10/1,3c(Cl-)

Werden in diese Beziehung entsprechende Chlorid-Konzentrationen (Cl in [mg/L] bzw. [mmol/L]) eingesetzt, so ergeben sich die unter diesen Konzentrationsbedingungen resultierenden Silber-Ionen-Konzentrationen wie folgt:

CL– [mg/l]CL– [mol/l]Ag+ [mol/l]Ag+ [μg/l]
100,284,6750
200,562,3325
----
601,690,778
----
1002,820,465
----
2005,630,232,5

Das heißt, dass z. B. in Wasser mit einem Gehalt von 20mg Chlorid/L lediglich eine Maximalkonzentration von 25µg Silberionen/L resultiert. Es ist erwiesen, dass eine
Wirkkonzentration >5µg Ag+/L mit einer Einwirkdauer von ca. 2 Std. eine Tötungsrate von (4 … 6) Log-Stufen bewirkt und somit ein wirkungsvoller Langzeitschutz gewährleistet ist.

Einsatzbereiche

  • Trinkwasser (gemäß DIN EN 15030)
  • Raumlufttechnik (gemäß VDI 6022)
  • Luftbefeuchter
  • Prozesswasser, Kühlwasser Rohre, Leitungen, Tanks
  • Feuerlöschanlagen
  • Notduschen
  • Apparate u. Anlagenbau
  • Mobile Gastronomie & Foodtrucks
  • Camping, Boot/Yacht
  • Kühltürme
  • Verdunstungskühlanlagen (gemäß VDI 2047) uvm.

Verfügbare Größen

  • vorkonfektioniert nach Wunschgröße
  • Private Label auf Anfrage

Haltbarkeit

silvertex® Netze sind vor Sonnenlicht geschützt, geschlossen lagernd, 10 Jahre haltbar. Im Kontakt mit Wasser/Fluiden hängt die Haltbarkeit bzw. Einsatzdauer von der jeweiligen Applikation ab und liegt in der Regel bei 12-24 Monaten.

Kennzeichnung

H410: Sehr giftig für Wasserorganismen mit langfristiger Wirkung.

Signalwort: Achtung

Biozidprodukte vorsichtig verwenden. Vor Gebrauch stets Etikett und Produktinformationen lesen.

Wirkstoff: Silber (Ag+)
CAS.-Nr.: 7440-22-4

BauA-Reg. Nr.:
N-107904 (PT5)
N-107905 (PT2)

Technisches Datenblatt (PDF)